Hanborough Community Website

Blenheim Palace Combe Mill Hanborough Walks Yellow fields Bus Museum Roman Villa

Blenheim Palace

Blenheim Palace, a grand country house and estate, is in nearby Woodstock. It is the principal residence of the Dukes of Marlborough, and the only non-royal, non-episcopal country house in England to hold the title of palace. The palace, one of England's largest houses, was built between 1705 and 1722, and designated a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1987. Many of the oldest houses in Hanborough were once owned and built by the estate for their workers, and one of the new developments in the village is being developed by Blenheim.

Combe Mill

Combe Mill is a historic, steam-powered sawmill, adjacent to the picturesque River Evenlode and close to Combe railway station, just outside Hanborough. It was built in 1852 as the workshop for the Blenheim Palace Estate. A Grade II listed building, it was restored in the early 1970s and is open to the public on several 'steaming' Sundays during the year. A fascinating visit for anyone interested in history or engineering.

Footpaths and walks

In Hanbrough we are at the heart of a network of interesting abd varied walking routes. Whether it be a relatively short stroll to Pinsley Woods or a longer walk further afield, possibly taking in Blenheim on the way - we have walks to suit everyone. You may be interested in the next outing of Hanbrough Walking Group - see details in the Clubs & Groups section.

Oxford Bus Museum

The Oxford Bus Museum is situated in Long Hanborough. The museum houses a collection of 40 historic buses and coaches, the remains of four horse trams and a replica City of Oxford Tramways Company tram. The site includes the Morris Motors Museum, which has a collection of 12 Morris Motors cars and vans. The two museums' collections also include many smaller historical artifacts. The museum is owned and operated by the Oxford Bus Museum Trust, a registered charity.

North Leigh Roman Villa

The remains of this Roman courtyard villa lie in the in the Evenlode Valley, just outside Hanbrough, between Freeland and North Leigh. It is in the care of English Heritage and is open to the public. The ruins were first excavated in 1813–16, with further excavations in 1910. Aerial archaeology in 1943 photographed the previously unknown plan of a southwest wing, and the ruins were last excavated in the 1970s. The site is managed and maintained by English Heritage.